the daily dixon

Best Surprise of my Life

1 Comment

Before I got pregnant when it was only a topic for discussion, I had always thought about how I would tell Billy I was pregnant. I thought I would be one of those girls that did something cute or sweet so we would have that memory to look back on. I had a few ideas in mind, but if you asked me today what they were, I couldn’t tell you a single one. While thinking up these ideas I didn’t take into consideration the whole we are trying to have a baby so it won’t really be a surprise aspect of getting pregnant. I mean, obviously I would find out first, but we were trying to get pregnant therefore we were talking about it and that kind of put the surprise idea on the back burner. Obviously I could have done something cute or sweet, but those thoughts completely escaped my brain when I saw those two pink lines on the test strip.

Here’s how it all went down…

Thursday, October 25th I was at work and just felt different. I literally felt like I was going to crawl out of my skin and I wanted to just stand up in my cubicle and scream. See what I mean about losing some of that happy go lucky surprise feeling? There were no hearts, flowers, or butterflies in my cubicle that day. I felt like I had all of a sudden become ADD and my legs were so restless that I had to sit on them just to keep myself in my chair. It was the strangest most uncomfortable feeling I had ever felt in my life. I could hardly focus on my work and ended up having to get some gum from a coworker just to keep my mind on chewing gum and not my flailing legs under my desk.

On my drive home I called my sister-in-law to tell her that I thought I might be pregnant because I couldn’t provide another explanation for my sudden onset ADD/restless leg syndrome. I should have started my period by then but I was wanting to wait until Saturday or Sunday to test to give my hormone levels more time so they would easily pick up on a home pregnancy test. She thought that I might have been pregnant and couldn’t believe that I had waited that long to test, but I only had one test left and I honestly didn’t want to waste it. Those things aren’t cheap you know. So I thought, okay I’ll wait until the morning since that’s the prime testing time and then I got home and just couldn’t get it out of my head so I decided to go ahead and test.

Within about 10 seconds there were two very distinct pink lines and I couldn’t believe it. I think I looked back at that test 5 or 6 times in pure shock before I came leaping out of the bathroom. Billy was at the computer completely oblivious to what I was doing so I did surprise or shock him a little. I just stood in the middle of the living room jumping up and down speechless and he instantly knew. He jumped up and hugged me and I started bawling my eyes out. I think I was just so overcome with emotion I didn’t know what else to do but cry. I remember him saying, “REALLY?!” and I just kept on crying. It still makes me want to cry when I think about that moment, so I guess I did get my surprise moment I was wanting after all.

bebe 11_5_12 6 wks

November 5, 2012 – 6 Weeks 1 Day

Best surprise of my life!

One thought on “Best Surprise of my Life

  1. Yay!!!! So excited for you all. That is pretty much what I did…Terence was in the shower and he just KNEW by looking at me! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

