the daily dixon

New Bed!

5 Comments

Our corgis are crate trained and have been their entire lives. We got them when they were two and a half years old, but the previous owner had them sleeping in a crate at night from the time they were six weeks old. We decided to continue the routine the previous owners had because it matched our schedule.

Having dogs that are already crate trained has been extremely beneficial to us, especially when traveling. Regardless of where we are or what we are doing, all we have to do is say, “go to bed” and they don’t think twice about hopping in their crate.

The previous owners didn’t give them a real bed because when they were younger they would always chew them up. We were a little hesitant to buy them one because they can be a little pricy and I didn’t want to spend the money just to have them chew it up.

We finally decided to bite the bullet and buy them a bed this weekend because I think they are old enough now to not destroy it, and they don’t tear anything up anyway. Now, we just had to see if they would even sleep in it. I waited to take the tag off just to make sure they wanted to  use it, otherwise I was fully prepared to return it. Luckily, Boudreaux climbed right in.

Hey!

Ahhh…. this is great!

After Boudreaux hogged the bed all afternoon, Deuce finally got his chance to try it out. It’s big enough that they can both sleep in it, and they actually have been in it together, but for the most part they take turns.

Hello!

I could get used to this!

Even our 19 year old cat, Goat, had to give the new bed a trial run. She is tiny, but she looks even smaller sleeping in that big bed. Needless to say it was a big hit!

Fully tested, Goat approved!

5 thoughts on “New Bed!

  1. I am DYING at their sweet smiles about their new bed!!! SO CUTE!!

    We crate trained Finley from about 6 weeks until her was about 2, then he some how started sleeping in our bed. I want a second dog but I’ve said many times – that will require the transition to dog beds!

    • We didn’t really consider getting them a bed until one day they were both sleeping on our pile of blankets that were waiting to be laundered. So one day I decided to take an old comforter and fold it up to about the size of a dog bed and let them test it out for a few days just to make sure they weren’t going to eat it. They kept coming back to it so we decided to go ahead and buy one. I’m glad we did because they seem to enjoy it.

      Our dogs are out of luck though with sleeping in our bed. Our bedroom has always been a no animal zone. Plus our bed is really high and they would hurt themselves trying to jump off with their stumpy little legs. Ha!

  2. it won’t let me comment!

  3. okay-omg you have the same dogs as the QUEEN! Looks like they love their bed! My shirt I’m wearing on my bloggy is from Zulily…love it although T says I’ve been buying “loud” shirts lately…whatevs. xoxo Becky

    • Your comments should appear automatically from now on. 🙂
      I don’t think it’s loud – it’s pretty! I bought a shirt with similar colors from the Limited a few weeks ago. I think I’m just on a bright colored shirt kick. Ha!

Leave a Reply

