the daily dixon

Chick-fil-A Day…

Leave a comment

… or whatever this day is.

Let me just start off by saying that I did not eat Chick-fil-A today with thousands of other people across this country we live in.

Why?

Because we had it for dinner on Tuesday.

I don’t eat Chick-fil-A very often (like once every 6 months) but when I do, it’s usually very tasty. My favorite is the chicken caesar cool wrap, but that’s not really what matters here.

You see, what I don’t get about this whole ordeal is why the entire country appears to be shocked and appalled at the comments made by Chick-fil-A’s CEO. It is no secret that this company holds Christian values, so don’t be surprised when the CEO believes in the biblical definition of marriage. This ecard pretty much sums it up:

As far as my thoughts on that goes, I don’t agree with his statement. I personally do not care if you choose to be gay or not.

Why? Because it has no effect whatsoever on me, my life, or my family.

Do I believe the CEO is wrong for stating his opinion? No, because he has every right to do so.

So what does all of this have to do with chicken? Well, people came out of the woodworks today to show their support for Chick-fil-A’s National Appreciation Day. Some went to show their approval for the CEO’s remarks, and some went just to prove that they don’t really care what the company’s views are because they have good chicken.

One of the great things about America is the right to freedom of speech. The CEO had every right to make the statement he did, and he did it in a respectful manner. He did not speak in rude or harsh tones about the gay community. I know it’s not what that community wanted to hear, but he was just stating his beliefs. Now, whether or not the company will suffer because of these remarks, we will just have to wait and see. Having the right to express your opinions and beliefs is always an option, but it’s not always the best option when holding a key position of a billion dollar company.

With all this being said, I am not going to boycott Chick-fil-A. I am choosing to disregard any beliefs the company holds for religion, marriage, etc because I go there for the food. I don’t go to Chick-fil-A for religion, and I certainly don’t go there for their marital beliefs. I go there for the chicken caesar cool wrap with ranch dressing, waffle fries, and sweet tea.

However, if I chose to boycott a fast food chain for their beliefs, then I better get out there and find out the beliefs of all the other restaurants I eat at, too. There are probably a few others out there with beliefs that differ from mine, and honestly, I don’t have time for that. I choose to use the products and services for a company because I like the product or service they offer.

End of story.

**If you leave a comment, please be kind. I know this is a controversial topic for discussion and I’m not the best writer when it comes to expressing hot topics. Just wanting to share my opinion.**

 

Leave a Reply

