the daily dixon

Weekend Wrap-Up

Leave a comment

I actually got to go into work a little bit later (7 am) on Friday so I got to see this beautiful sunrise on my drive in.

I never really cared too much about being up for the sunrise but I think I’m starting to change my mind. There is something peaceful about watching all the colors in the sky change as the sun comes up and we start our day. I think it makes me a happier person. So does wearing jeans to work and getting off a few hours early, too.

When I got home Billy was already there because he worked a half day too! What a nice surprise since I wasn’t expecting him to be there for three more hours. We just relaxed for a while and then headed over to my MIL’s house to swim. It was so nice and refreshing to float around in the cool water with all this crazy heat we’ve been having lately. We ordered pizza for dinner and then called it a night around 10:30pm! I don’t remember the last time I went to bed that early on a Friday night, but we were so exhausted that we couldn’t resist.

We got up early on Saturday because we were having DirecTV installed! Yay! I’m beyond excited about having DirecTV again. We have been watching the crappy local cable tv since we moved back. I can’t wait to DVR all of my favorite shows again and I’m sure there are some more shows out there that I will find. We are SUPER excited about having the NFL Sunday Ticket for FREE! We are football freaks at our house so this is awesome. Besides football, does anyone have any fall tv show recommendations?

After the satellite was installed, we grabbed some Mexican food for lunch and then headed out for the tax free weekend. Billy got some new slacks for work and some casual clothes, and I picked up two new work pants and some black flats. Everything we bought was on sale and tax free so we saved a lot. We even got the dogs new collars and tags at Petsmart.

Once we had gotten everything we set out for, we headed home to relax and get out of the heat for a while. That night we headed up to Chili’s for dinner and drinks while we watched the last half of the Ranger game. We were so tired from being out all day that we went to bed at 10:30 pm again!

Sunday was all about keeping things low-key and we just lounged around the house all day. We did make two trips out though – one to go to the grocery store and one to pick up my invitations I am sending out this week for my best friends bachelorette party.

I did receive this in the mail this weekend courtesy of the UNT Alumni Association.

(Sorry for the bad lighting and crappy cell phone picture quality)

College football is right around the corner! I’m so excited!

Leave a Reply

