the daily dixon

Early Riser

Leave a comment

Work has been absolutely crazy the past few weeks. We are currently in our peak season which means lots of extended hours for my office. I’ve been getting up at 4 a.m. every morning and getting to work before the sun comes up. It seems a little crazy, but I’m kind of liking it for now. Yes, I am tired and have tried to go to bed at 8 p.m. some nights, but it has been a nice change.

I’ve never really been an “early riser” because I’ve never really had to be anywhere that early. Of course there is the occasional we are leaving at the crack of dawn so we can get on the road type of situation, but those are pretty far between. I think I like driving to work in the dark – is that weird? I’m a talk radio addict, so I’ve also been enjoying the new radio choices that early in the morning. Coast to Coast AM has had some pretty interesting paranormal stories to entertain me on my commute. I’m not super into that stuff, but it’s entertaining listening to some of these peoples stories.

I’ll tell you another entertaining thing about my mornings – getting dressed. I try to pick out what I am going to wear the night before, but you know that planned outfit doesn’t always work out. I haven’t been feeling as comfortable in my clothes these days, and the 100+ degree heat isn’t helping either. Every morning I dig through my closet with a flashlight and then get dressed with said flashlight. I try to turn on a few lights as possible so I don’t wake Billy up, but there has got to be a better way. I really need to try on my outfits before bed to be sure that is what I want to wear I guess. I’ll probably get it all figured out by the time my 4 a.m. mornings come to a close. This has also made me question what life will be like whenever we have kids. I hope I have a better routine than flashlight dressing in the dark. Can you imagine throwing a small child into my dark mornings? Yikes.

Anyway, we have some exciting things coming up around our house in the coming weeks and I do want to post a recap of our celebratory graduation cruise we took ..ahem.. a year ago. Until then, I’m going to get some sleep and I’ll leave you with this beautiful sunset we took…

Leave a Reply

