the daily dixon

I’m Running!

3 Comments

I am on a mission to get fit and tone by the time summer rolls around. For the last six years, I have not had a regular work out schedule, so jumping into this is a little bit scary and difficult. Growing up, I always had a very active lifestyle. From the ago of two I started dance classes and continued taking them all the way through high school. I twirled on a state twirling team, played on the high school tennis team, played basketball and softball for eight years, and ran track for two years. I was super active and no matter what I would eat, I would not gain a pound. Let me tell you that those days are LONG gone.

Over the past year and a half I have gained somewhere between 10-15 lbs. I am not exactly sure on the number because I do not own a scale. Maybe I should purchase one if I am going to start this fit journey! The past two weeks I have started out just doing 100 crunches a day and adjusting my diet to watch what I eat a little better. I have already started seeing improvement on my waistline because my jeans are a little bit looser! Yay!

Yesterday on a whim, I decided that I was going to start running again. Running is something that I have done for years throughout all of my sporting activities, but I really enjoyed it during 7th and 8th grade track. I used to run the 800m in 2:25 and the mile in 6:15. Those were the days when running was probably my favorite activity and it made me feel good about myself. (note: I am not trying to boast about myself or make it sounds like I am awesome, because let me tell you – I am not. Just trying to express my feelings) I was asked multiple times by the high school track coach to run in high school, but I decided to choose twirling and tennis instead. Now, I wish I would have stuck with the running. During middle school I ran a couple of fun runs with my Mom. I would usually participate in the mile or the two mile while my Mom ran the 5k. My longest run was a city to city run that was 11 miles. I did not run the 11 miles, but I did four miles on a three person relay team. It was fun, challenging, but rewarding at the same time.

Man oh man how the times have changed! Ha! Every time I go out to run I have to remind myself that I am older and my body is much different than it was several years ago. I have a bad habit of trying to run at my “regular pace” which is obviously NOT my average pace now. It’s tough and it will take some getting used to, but I’m ready to give it a try. I started out easy and just ran a mile yesterday and I feel so good about it! Physically, my legs and butt are killing me, but my body feels refreshed. It’s a great feeling and I hope to run another mile when I get off of work today.

I am going to keep track of my running progress on here to share with you all. There are so many running bloggers that I would link to on here, but I’m afraid I will forget someone! All of you are an inspiration to keep running, but I need your help! Please share with me any advice you have to get started again. Did you just go out there and run until you got tired or did you have a schedule you followed? What shoes did you wear? Do I need special socks?! I’m so lost here because it has been so long. Any and all advice and encouragement is welcomed and very much appreciated!

Thank you and I will update you on my run tonight! Have a great day : )

3 thoughts on “I’m Running!

  1. Yay for you!! Seriously, that is awesome 🙂

    My very very very best advice is to take it easy. You aren’t running for Olympic gold your first few times out, there is no need to be embarrassed if you aren’t running incredibly fast or if you need to take walk breaks–run for yourself. This way, you will invariably stick with it longer, not get injured, and actually enjoy yourself! Plus, it is easier to add mileage when you aren’t trying to chase done Kenyans everytime you head out the door.

    Good luck!

  2. Yay for you! The only time I put my self on a workout routine and stuck to it was for my wedding… .and since then I always say I’m going to work out 3 times a week but it never happens. 😦 I really wish I had the motivation!!!

Leave a Reply

